Racing Post Chase Winners

Andrew Thornton and Simon clear the last fence before landing The Racing Post Handicap Steeple Chase Race run at Kempton Racecourse onFebruary 24, 2007 in Kempton, England Racing Post Chase results have featured an array of superb racehorses since the event started in 1988. Several Racing Post Chase winners have gone to claim honours at National Hunt racing’s most prestigious events. Due to the fact that the Racing Post Chase is a handicapped event, many of the famous horses that achieved victory in this race did so despite bearing crippling additional weight.

Racing Post Chase Winners 1988-2009

Year Horse Trainer

  • 1988 Rhyme ‘n’ Reason David Elsworth
  • 1989 Bonanza Bo Martin Pipe
  • 1990 Desert Orchid David Elsworth
  • 1991 Docklands Express Kim Bailey
  • 1992 Docklands Express Kim Bailey
  • 1993 Zeta’s Lad John Upson
  • 1994 Antonin Sue Bramall
  • 1995 Val d’Alene 8 François Doumen
  • 1996 Rough Quest Terry Casey
  • 1997 Mudahim Jenny Pitman
  • 1998 Super Tactics Robert Alner
  • 1999 Dr Leunt Philip Hobbs
  • 2000 Gloria Victis Martin Pipe
  • 2001 Young Spartacus Henry Daly
  • 2002 Gunther McBride Philip Hobbs
  • 2003 La Landiere Richard Phillips
  • 2004 Marlborough Nicky Henderson
  • 2005 Farmer Jack Philip Hobbs
  • 2006 Innox François Doumen
  • 2007 Simon John Spearing
  • 2008 Gungadu Ruby Walsh
  • 2009 Nacarat Tony McCoy

Racing Post Chase Results: The Greats

  • Rhyme ‘n Reason: In 1988, Rhyme ‘n Reason made history as the first horse to win the Racing Post Chase. This was to be just one of many highlights in a remarkable racing career. That same year Rhyme ‘n Reason went on to be involved in one of the most dramatic races in National Hunt racing history – surviving a first lap fall at Cheltenham’s Becher’s brook to take the National by four lengths.
  • Desert Orchid: This classy grey, rated as one of the greatest National Hunt racehorses ever, became the third Racing Post Chase winner in 1990. His win at the Racing Post Chase came on the heels of his memorable victory at the Cheltenham Gold Cup. Victories in the Irish Grand National and King George VI Chase followed, despite the heavy handicap he carried. By the end of his glittering career, Desert Orchid had earned the status of a living legend.
  • Rough Quest: In 1996, gelding Rough Quest became the first horse to repeat Rhyme ‘n Reason’s 1988 feat of winning both the Racing Post Chase and the National in the same year. In claiming the National in 1996, Rough Quest became the first favourite since Grittar in 1982 to win the race. Plagued by fragile health, Rough Quest was retired only 4 years later.